Alaska Geospatial Council (AGC)


On June 28th, 2012, the Department of the Interior and the State of Alaska co-hosted the Alaska Mapping Roundtable to raise awareness of topographic mapping efforts in Alaska and investigate options for a joint funding strategy. Executives from over 20 Federal departments and bureaus attended, as well as representatives from the Alaska Governor’s Office, Department of Transportation and Public Facilities, Department of Natural Resources, University of Alaska, and the Alaska Congressional delegation.

Senior State and Federal executives reached consensus quickly acknowledging that modern topographic mapping of Alaska must be prioritized and accelerated. This meeting resulted in the formation of an interagency Federal executive committee to coordinate Federal efforts, collaboration and cost sharing for mapping in Alaska. The Alaska Mapping Executive Committee (AMEC) is chaired by the Department of the Interior, Anne Castle, Assistant Secretary for Water & Science. The Vice Chair is John Conger - Office of Secretary of Defense. The purpose of the Committee is to secure the resources necessary to complete the topographic mapping of Alaska.

Additionally the USGS launched the Alaska Mapping Initiative to support and improve maps and digital map data to bring Alaska's topographic map and digital map data quality in line with the conterminous United States. The goal of the initiative is to collaborate in the acquisition of digital map data and update geospatial layers such as hydro, boundaries and etc. to produce modern and accurate Topo maps for Alaska.

Alaska Mapping Roundtable - 2012